Board Changes Bring New Dynamism And Expertise To DBSA

Johannesburg, 9 November 2023 – The Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA) is pleased to announce the changes to its Board of Directors, with Mr. Ebrahim Rasool appointed as the new Chairperson and Ms. Martie Janse Van Rensburg as the new Deputy Chairperson. In addition to this the Bank also announced the appointment of six distinguished non-executive directors and Ms. Zodwa Mbele to the position of executive director. These changes are set to invigorate the capacity of the DBSA Board, aligning it more closely with the Bank's strategic objectives.

The Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson have been appointed effective 8 November 2023 and they are :

  • Mr. Ebrahim Rasool - Ebrahim Rasool is an accomplished anti-apartheid activist and social services leader. He holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Higher Diploma in Education from the University of Cape Town, and has been awarded Honorary Doctorates by Roosevelt University and Chatham University. Ebrahim founded the World for All Foundation, which envisions a just, sustainable, and dignified world safe for difference. His extensive government experience includes leading various departments as Provincial Minister, former Premier of the Western Cape, and former South African Ambassador to the United States.
  • Ms. Martie Janse Van Rensburg - A Chartered Accountant (SA) who holds a BCompt Hons from the University of South Africa and a BCom from the University of the Free State. A former Chief Executive Officer for Trans-Caledon Tunnel Authority skilled in strategic business planning, internal audit, corporate governance and development finance (project finance and infrastructure planning and delivery). She has previously and currently served and or serve in various board capacities in private and public institutions.

The following esteemed professionals have been appointed as independent non-executive directors for a term of three years, effective from October 2, 2023, to October 1, 2026:

  • Mr. Jonathan Muthige - With over 30 years of experience in human resources, Mr. Muthige currently serves as the group's Chief Human Capital and Transformation Director for Alexander Forbes. His wealth of expertise will be invaluable to the DBSA Board.
  • Ms. Chantal Naidoo - Dr. Naidoo holds a Ph.D. and has extensive experience in Investment and Corporate Banking, ESG Investments, and Global Climate Change. She is the founder of Rabia Transitions and brings a strong background in sustainability to the Board.
  • Ms. Disebo Moephuli - A seasoned executive with over 20 years of experience in State-Owned Enterprises and financial services, Ms. Moephuli specialises in Risk and Corporate and Investment banking.
  • Mr. Barry Hore - Mr. Hore brings three decades of experience as a Chief Technology Officer and Chief Information Officer, specialising in technology and cybersecurity.
  • Mr. Joel Netshitenzhe - With a background in economics and social sciences, Mr. Netshitenzhe is a renowned leader known for his political acumen and has held significant positions in government and healthcare.
  • Professor Edgar Pieterse - A highly accomplished professional with extensive experience in academia, policy development, and non-profit leadership, Professor Pieterse will contribute his expertise in sustainable human settlements.

The DBSA would also like to express its gratitude and appreciation to the following directors whose terms have come to an end: Prof. Mark Swilling (Board Chairperson), Dr. Gaby Magomola (Deputy Chairman), Ms. Anu Sing, and Dr. Blessing Mudavanhu. Their contributions have been instrumental in the bank's success.

Mr. Rasool brings a wealth of leadership experience from both government and international perspectives. He is known for his commitment to development and social justice.

Ms. Martie J. van Rensburg, brings her extensive knowledge and expertise to the position. She will continue to serve as the Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.

These changes were made in accordance with the Nominations Committee Terms of Reference, and the DBSA Board remains properly constituted in terms of the DBSA Act (13 of 1997, as amended).

The DBSA looks forward to the fresh perspectives and expertise these new appointments will bring to the organization as it continues to drive sustainable development in Southern Africa.


About the Development Bank of Southern Africa

The DBSA is a leading Development Finance Institution (DFI), wholly owned by the government of South Africa. Established in 1983, the DBSA is mandated to promote economic growth and regional integration by mobilising financial and other resources from national and international private and public sectors for sustainable development projects and programmes in South Africa, SADC, and the wider African continent.

For more information visit Email: